Legislation

Duty of designation: why has the legislation changed?

The new offence of "non-designation" has been introduced in the aim of improving the accountability of employers and drivers of vehicles belonging to legal entities.

Since the introduction of the automated control system at the start of the 2000s, it has been common for drivers committing an offence at the wheel of a vehicle belonging to a legal entity to evade deduction of points. Sometimes the legal entity even pays the fine in place of the offender. Such a process reduces accountability, not only for the author of the offence, but also for the organization employing him or her. It endangers the lives of employees and those of other road users by failing to encourage respect of the Highway Code regulations.

This is why a decision was made to create a penalty connected with the obligation to reveal the identity of the driver. This penalty must prevent the driver from being the recipient of the warning sign that is the loss of points. It should be emphasized that road accidents are the number one cause of mortality at work. In 2015, 483 people lost their lives during travel related to their occupation and 4,520 had to be hospitalized following an accident during their commute or on a job.

Since 1st January 2017, Article L121-6 of the Highway Code consequently specifies that, when a driving offence has been committed with a vehicle which has a legal entity as its registration certificate holder or which is owned by a legal entity, the legal representative of this legal entity must designate the private individual who was driving this vehicle at the time of the offence. They have a period of 45 days to complete this designation to the Officier du Ministère Public.

Offences covered by the duty of designation

The offences in question are those reported as per the terms stated in Article L.139-9 of the Highway Code. These are offences reported "by or from automated control devices" which are officially recognized and relating to:

  • wearing of seatbelts;
  • use of hand-held phones;
  • use of lanes and road surfaces reserved for certain categories of vehicle;
  • driving on hard shoulders;
  • compliance with safety distances;
  • crossing or straddling of solid lines;
  • signals requiring vehicles to stop;
  • speed limits;
  • overtaking;
  • entering the space between the two stop lines at a signal light, reserved for bicycles and mopeds;
  • wearing of helmets for users of two-wheeled vehicles.

Amount of the fine incurred

When the legal representative does not designate the perpetrator of the offence, the legal entity incurs a fixed fine equal to 675 Euros. This fine can be increased to 3,750 Euros by a Community Court which can also decide to penalize the legal representative with a fine of up to 750 Euros.

These fines are added to the fine for the initially committed offence and for which the legal representative is the sole person liable to pay out of their own funds (Articles L121-2 and L121-3 of the Highway Code) in the absence of designation.

Special cases: self-designation, theft, identity fraud…

If the legal representative of the legal entity is him/herself the person who has committed the driving offence, s/he is obliged to designate him/herself. If s/he does not do this, his/her permit cannot have points deduced from it and the legal entity of which s/he is the legal representative will receive an Offence Notice for non-designation. When s/he has committed un offence him/herself, the legal representative must therefore transmit his/her name, date of birth and driving licence, in the same way as all the other drivers.

If the vehicle at the wheel of which the offence was committed was stolen at the time of the offence, in the event of number plate fraud or any other force majeure event, the legal representative to which the Offence Notice has been sent must send to the OMP, within 45 days, the documents for establishing the existence of the theft, identity fraud or force majeure event.

To find out more about the practical terms and conditions of designation, click here

La réglementation

Obligation de désignation : pourquoi la réglementation a-t-elle changé ?

L’instauration de la nouvelle contravention de non-désignation vise à responsabiliser les employeurs et les conducteurs de véhicules appartenant à des personnes morales.

Depuis l'instauration du système de contrôle automatisé, au début des années 2000,  il était fréquent que les conducteurs  ayant commis une infraction au volant d'un véhicule appartenant à une personne morale échappent au retrait de point. Il arrivait même que la personne morale paie l'amende en lieu et place du contrevenant. Un tel procédé est déresponsabilisant non seulement pour l'auteur de l'infraction, mais aussi pour l'organisme qui l'emploie. Il met en danger la vie des employés et celle des autres usagers de la route en n'encourageant pas au respect des règles du code de la route.

C'est pourquoi il a été décidé de créer une sanction assortie à l'obligation de révéler l'identité du conducteur. Cette sanction vise à s'assurer que le conducteur est bien le destinataire du signal d'alerte que constitue la perte de points. Il faut souligner que les accidents de la route sont la première cause de mortalité au travail. En 2015, 483 personnes ont perdu la vie dans un déplacement lié à l'activité professionnelle et 4 520 ont dû être hospitalisées à la suite d'un accident sur le trajet domicile-travail ou au cours d'une mission.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2017, l’article L121-6 du code de la route prévoit en conséquence que, lorsqu’une infraction routière a été commise avec un véhicule dont le titulaire du certificat d’immatriculation est une personne morale ou qui est détenu par une personne morale, le représentant légal de cette personne morale doit désigner la personne physique qui conduisait ce véhicule au moment de l’infraction. Il dispose d’un délai de 45 jours pour effectuer cette désignation auprès de l’officier du ministère public.

Les infractions concernées par l’obligation de désignation

Les infractions concernées sont celles constatées selon les modalités prévues à l’article L.139-9 du code de la route. Il s’agit des infractions constatées « par ou à partir des appareils de contrôle automatiques » homologués et relatives:

  • au port d'une ceinture de sécurité;
  • à l'usage du téléphone tenu en main;
  • à l'usage de voies et chaussées réservées à certaines catégories de véhicules;
  • à la circulation sur les bandes d'arrêt d'urgence;
  • au respect des distances de sécurité;
  • au franchissement et au chevauchement des lignes continues;
  • aux signalisations imposant l'arrêt des véhicules;
  • aux vitesses maximales autorisées;
  • au dépassement;
  • à l'engagement dans l'espace compris entre les deux liges d'arrêt à un feu de signalisation, réservé aux cycles et cyclomoteurs;
  • au port du casque pour les usagers de deux roues.

Le montant de l’amende encourue

Lorsque le représentant légal ne désigne pas l'auteur de l'infraction, la personne morale encourt une amende forfaitaire égale à 675 euros. Cette amende peut être majorée jusqu'à 3750 euros par un Tribunal de proximité qui peut également décider de sanctionner le représentant légal d'une amende pouvant atteindre 750 euros au maximum.

Ces amendes s'ajoutent à celle prévue pour l'infraction commise initialement et dont le représentant légal est seul redevable sur ses deniers personnels (articles L121-2 et L121-3 du code de la route) à défaut d'une désignation.

Cas particuliers : auto-désignation, vol, usurpation…

Si le représentant légal de la personne morale est lui-même la personne qui a commis l’infraction routière, il est dans l’obligation de se désigner. En effet, s’il ne le fait pas, son permis ne pourra pas faire l’objet d’un retrait de points et la personne morale dont il est le représentant légal recevra un avis de contravention pour non-désignation. Lorsqu’il a lui-même commis une infraction, le représentant légal doit donc obligatoirement transmettre son nom, sa date de naissance et son permis de conduire, au même titre que tous les autres conducteurs.

Si le véhicule au volant duquel a été commise l’infraction avait été volé au moment de l’infraction, en cas d’usurpation de plaque d’immatriculation ou de tout autre évènement de force majeure, le représentant légal auquel est adressé l’avis de contravention doit transmettre, sous 45 jours, à l’officier du ministère public, les éléments permettant d’établir l’existence du vol, de l’usurpation ou de l’événement de force majeure.

Pour en savoir plus sur les modalités pratiques de désignation, cliquez ici